Frequently Asked Questions

If you are a first time dog owner in Mahoning County you must visit a Licensing Agent to register your dog. If you are a current registered dog owner you can register a new dog online.
Licensing is a requirement of Ohio law. The license, attached to your dog's collar, will identify you as the owner should the dog be lost. If the dog is impounded by the Dog Warden's office and is wearing its tag, you will be notified. Dogs not wearing their current license tags are held only 3 days for redemption.
A one year dog tag costs $20.00. For a complete list of licensing fees click on the link. Dog Licensing Fees (PDF)
Multiple dogs can be licensed on-line at one time without incurring additional fees for currect registered dog owners.
On-line payments are by credit card only. There is a service fee of 2.4%. You will recieve a confirmation email from " once the transaction is completed.
Please quantify in writing and send via email any personal Name changes that pertain to Dog ownership to
On the website, changing the dogs characteristics can only be saved when completing a new year’s license purchase. If your dog license is current, please send your information via email to and Auditor Staff will adjust with 60 days.
All service tag applications and licenses are processed through the Mahoning County Dog Warden. A license can be obtained by completing this application and can be brought to the Dog Warden’s office in person or it can be mailed. The Dog Warden’s address is 1230 N Meridian Rd # B, Youngstown, OH 44509. The service dog application is permanent and free of charge. Before applying to ensure you qualify for this license, please make sure to read the Ohio Revised Code section 955.011 on service animals and the ADA policy on the differences between service animals and emotional support animals—those are included in the application document to review. Mahoning County will not issue a service dog license for an emotional support dog. Emotional support dogs must be licensed annually with the standard $20 fee.”